top of page

The Monster Staring Back at You.

I used to be an athlete you know, a pretty good one too. That is until the "monster" we are so scared to name took it away. Well, I gave it all the permission to do so. I was muscular, strong and fit. There were very few female athletes of my age that looked like I did. One ignorant boy made a stupid uninformed (little did he know) destructive comment and there I waved a beautiful talent good-bye.

I became so obsessed with being the most thin, most feminine stick figure-looking "Twiggy" wannabe around, every glance in a mirror or something resembling one brought forth this food-hating-people-scaring-that-better-not-be-salad-dressing-on-my-lettuce monster. I must have been a delight!?

Lately I gained some healthy weight (not that I'm always so thrilled about it), but it gave me the energy to start jogging, play netball and basically just smile again. I can carry and follow a conversation and intellectually challenging discussion. How many of you found even something as simple as that extremely difficult? I can do maths, my hair doesn't fall out anymore, my skin looks different, let me tell you what, it actually looks like human skin. I can hike and not fall over. I can maybe possibly have babies one day. It makes me happy.

Sometimes I find it difficult to draw the line between overdoing physical activities to loose some of that unwanted fatty tissue, and I think it will always be a struggle. But then I remind myself of the rewards that come with that extra curvature around my belly and thighs. The rewards that once upon a time never existed to me.

What are your rewards? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwB_VYPeDi4

bottom of page